Week 24 – Be the observer

It sounds easy to do..,just be the observer. It is a lot harder to do.  Just taking the time to think about being an observer is difficult.  For me, anyway. What I’ve noticed is how much of an observer I am not.  I had great intentions this morning of being the observer, and I failed miserably.  I can’t remember any time today that I was observant. I’m sure there are many benefits and I could learn a lot.  It’s something I don’t think I’ve ever done.  Consciously, anyway.  I’m not talking about being an observer at the movies or football or baseball games.  That’s different.  I wonder how many people are observers?  This is something I have to work on and become more conscious of doing.  I’m feeling a little overwhelmed in trying to think of how to do this.

Well, on another subject…I enjoyed watching the video about working on solutions by writing with your non-dominant hand.  I thought it was pretty amazing that the answer to the same question could be different just by using the non-dominant hand.  I think I can handle this project.  In fact, as was suggested, I think I will brush my teeth tonight with my non-dominant hand as a start.  I will be doing more of these exercises to see what I come up with.

There’s so much I don’t know, but so much I am learning!  Some easy, some hard.  Maybe that could be considered an observation.  I want to become a better observer!  I am looking forward to becoming a better observer.  Practice makes perfect and there’s no better time than now to start!

2 thoughts on “Week 24 – Be the observer

  1. Hello Susan, I once heard it said that the difference between a smart person and a person who is not smart is that “The smart person knows how little they know.” The amount of knowledge that exists is limitless and as such, we (and society in general) know very little. Understanding this is reassuring and sobering for me. From my perspective, the journey is to gain what you need, to get where you want to go, and be open along the way. You are doing great. Take care and enjoy the ride.

    Like

    • Thank you for your thoughts. I like your perspective of getting what we need to get and be open along the way. There is so much to understand and learn. I certainly am learning everyday, that’s for sure!

      Like

Leave a Reply

