A little bit about me – Better late than never and lucky, lucky me!

I remember my first Toastmaster’s speech.  You had to talk about yourself and I remember that was hard!  I also learned things about me that didn’t come up until I sat down to figure out what that speech was going to be about.   I remember the title, “Better late than never”.  Yes, many things happened later in my life, but I was happy that it did happen to me, even if many others experienced things earlier in their lives than I did.

It’s funny! When I discovered something about myself, it was always a surprise. As an example, other people would say that they liked being around me because I was positive.  I think it’s more that I was always happy around people, and I was interested in what they had to say, because it was more interesting than what I would have had to say.  I was surprised when my friend told me she had no idea that I was even considering a divorce, much less actually going through it.  That was when I realized I was not as open as I thought I was.  I didn’t want others to know.

I also believe that things happen for a reason.  Some things I still don’t understand why it happened, but that there was a reason.  Timing is everything is another one.  If it’s supposed to happen, it does, with very little obstacles in the way.  Well, most of the times things work out.

I also feel that even if I don’t presently have everything I would like, things could be worse!  Whenever I feel sorry for myself, I somehow hear about someone else and what they’re going through is worse, and appreciate what I do have. Actually, I feel pretty lucky!

I’ve been married for 29 years (wow! how time flies!) and I have a beautiful daughter who is 35 years old, living in Vegas. Drug free and working an almost full time job and also working a part time job to save her money so she can come back home (Oahu) to live.

Our favorite past time was cruising.  Not so much now, but we have the memories of our adventures to Europe, Australia, Machu Pichu, the Amazon, Antartica just to name a few!   How lucky am I!

I thought I’d be retired by now, but luck had it that I would find the most wonderful job in my life at the third trimester of my life and I think I’ll stick it out for at least another 3 to 5 years.   What could make me want to continue working?  I provide captioned telephones for those with hearing loss for FREE!  I do outreach, education and installations of these phones.  This is the most rewarding job I’ve ever had, and I don’t consider it work at all!  You see, better late than never!  How lucky can a person be?

Leave a Reply

